Franco Mostert cleared to play against Ireland by independent disciplinary panel

Franco Mostert cleared to play against Ireland by independent disciplinary panel

Springboks head coach Rassie Erasmus was fuming in the post-match press conference after Mostert became the second South African lock to be sent off in consecutive weeks.

Referee James Doleman issued Mostert with a permanent red card for what was judged to have been an always illegal tackle on Italian fly-half Paolo Garbisi.

That meant that the Springboks played the majority of the Test match with 14 men, with Erasmus reacting to the red card by making a plethora of early changes, including the likes of Siya Kolisi and Ben-Jason Dixon – the latter’s first appearance of the year not even lasting 20 minutes.

It was the second week in a row that Erasmus saw one of his locks being sent off for such an act, and the head coach couldn’t hide his disappointment afterwards.

“It is what it is. What I say here can’t make a difference,” he said.

Adding, “I’m not saying anybody was wrong. I just thought the balance of calling the head shots was not equal. By that I’m not criticising. That’s what I experienced live.”

Mostert has since faced a disciplinary hearing with reports suggesting the veteran double Rugby World Cup winner is free to feature for the Springboks this weekend in the highly anticipated clash with Ireland at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Mostert and his legal team were able to prove that the Bok lock had not made direct contact with the head of Garbisi. That was a key factor in Doleman’s decision to issue the permanent red card, with TMO Tual Trainini and assistants Ben O’Keeffe and Jeremy Rozier informing the New Zealand official that head contact had occurred.

“What we had to determine there was whether or not that was clear head contact,” Doleman explained to captains Kolisi and Nacho Brex.

“The TMO has confirmed that there is clear head contact, the TMO, along with us has confirmed that it’s an always illegal action because number five does not attempt to wrap, his arm is behind him.

“Therefore, we don’t apply any mitigation; we acknowledge there is another tackler [Ethan Hooker], it doesn’t apply to an always illegal action, it’s going to be a permanent red card.”

However, a disciplinary committee has seemingly disagreed with the matchday officials, with footage proving that Mostert did not make shoulder-to-head contact with the Italian number 10 but instead made shoulder-to-chest contact first.

The report adds that Lood de Jager may also be available for selection against Ireland with the second rower appealing his four-game ban following his red card against France. His hearing is set to take place on Wednesday morning.

Related News

Erasmus brings back France-beating lineup as Springboks look to conquer Dublin

Erasmus brings back France-beating lineup as Springboks look to conquer Dublin

  • 20 hours ago

Rassie Erasmus has reunited the core of the Springbok side that dismantled France, naming a near full-strength lineup as the Boks chase a first win in Dublin since 2012.

Green and gold returns: Springboks back in traditional colours for Ireland clash

Green and gold returns: Springboks back in traditional colours for Ireland clash

  • 1 day ago

The Springboks will be back in their traditional green and gold jerseys for Saturday's clash against Ireland in Dublin, with the hosts set to wear an alternate strip.

Ireland star Robbie Henshaw expecting another 'thriller' against 'proud' Springboks

Ireland star Robbie Henshaw expecting another 'thriller' against 'proud' Springboks

  • 1 day ago

Ireland veteran Robbie Henshaw says he's relishing what he calls a "real test" as Ireland prepare to host the Springboks in Dublin on Saturday.

India's Shubman Gill set to travel for second Test against Proteas despite injury doubts

India's Shubman Gill set to travel for second Test against Proteas despite injury doubts

  • 2 days ago

India captain Shubman Gill has been cleared to travel to Guwahati for the second Test against South Africa despite being doubtful to play due to a neck injury.